The Vortex Theatre: Shakespeare on the Plaza Brings Laughs to 
Downtown Albuquerque

Classical theater joins the urban cityscape of Downtown Albuquerque as the City of Albuquerque and The Vortex Theatre present Shakespeare on the Plaza with 15 free evening performances on Civic Plaza beginning Friday, June 8.

William Shakespeare’s comedies As You Like It and Merry Wives of Windsor will include theatrical lighting and sound during the fully-costumed productions.  Both plays are set in the 1960s. There will be a ‘60s dance party before the show beginning at 7:00 pm Thursdays, Saturdays, and Sundays, and live music on Fridays.

As You Like It, directed by Brendan McCall, follows sibling rivalries, exiled lords, lovers in disguise, and some of Shakespeare’s most well-known speeches (“All the world’s a stage”) and ends in reconciliation and marriage. McCall is a multifaceted international theater artist and producer currently based in Oslo, Norway.

In Merry Wives of Windsor, the lecherous Falstaff attempts to seduce married women, who see through him but lead him on in order to turn the tables on him. Merry Wives of Windsor is directed by Dennis Elkins, who directed last year’s highly successful Comedy of Errors. He has been an acclaimed actor, director, and professor of theater for many years.

The schedule is as follows:

  • Friday, June 8 – As You Like It
  • Saturday, June 9 – Merry Wives of Windsor
  • Sunday, June 10 – As You Like It
  • Thursday, June 14 – As You Like It
  • Friday, June 15 – Merry Wives of Windsor
  • Saturday, June 16 – As You Like It
  • Sunday, June 17 – Merry Wives of Windsor
  • Thursday, June 21 – Merry Wives of Windsor
  • Friday, June 22 – As You Like It
  • Saturday, June 23 – Merry Wives of Windsor
  • Sunday, June 24 – As You Like It
  • Thursday, June 28 – As You Like It
  • Friday, June 29 – Merry Wives of Windsor
  • Saturday, June 30 – As You Like It
  • Sunday, July 1 – Merry Wives of Windsor

All performances begin at 7:45 p.m.

Attendees are encouraged to bring their own chairs as limited seating is available. Culinary delights will be available from local food trucks and there will be beer and wine for those with valid IDs.

Paid parking is available beneath Civic Plaza. Street parking and a number of other parking structures also are in the area.

About the Vortex Theatre:

The Vortex is Albuquerque’s oldest continuously-running Black Box Theatre, a pioneering venue for classic, contemporary, and cutting-edge theatre since 1976. This 501(c)3 non-profit community playhouse entertains audiences year-round with some of the city’s finest productions, including our annual Summer Shakespeare Festival. The Vortex is located at 2900 Carlisle Avenue NE.

Photo by James Martin.